• messenger
  • Questions and Answers
  • Contact Us
  • search

SOTOZEN-NET > Library > Glossary > three modes of karma



three modes of karma (sangō 三業)

The three modes of action: physical, verbal, and mental. Body (shin 身), speech (ku 口), and mind (i 意). Buddhist doctrine does not draw a fundamental distinction between thought and action. It regards thinking as a mode of doing (karma), albeit the most subtle and hard to control.